Pep Guardiola: Manchester City boss named LMA manager of the year | Football News

Pep Guardiola: Manchester City boss named LMA manager of the year | Football News

Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola has been named the League Managers’ Association manager of the year.

Guardiola led City to a third Premier League title in four seasons, 12 points clear of nearest rivals Manchester United, and a fourth consecutive League Cup.

City will face Chelsea in the final of the Champions League in Porto on Saturday as they look to win the competition for the first time.

The five other managers who received the most votes to be in contention for the award were: Marcelo Bielsa (Leeds), Daniel Farke (Norwich), Emma Hayes (Chelsea Women), David Moyes (West Ham) and Brendan Rodgers (Leicester).

Guardiola previously won the award – voted for by fellow managers – in recognition of overseeing City’s record-breaking 2017-18 campaign when they became the first team in English top-flight history to reach 100 points in a single season.


Sir Alex Ferguson has congratulated Pep Guardiola on being named LMA Manager of the year and says the award is fully deserved

“I am delighted to win this award for the second time, but an award like this is only possible if a manager is surrounded by top professionals,” said Guardiola.

“My players have been fantastic – their dedication and professionalism never waver, even in a season that has been the most challenging we have ever faced.

“And my staff are also deserving of the highest praise. I am so lucky to have a team of people who give everything they have every single day to make sure Manchester City are the best we can be.

“This award is dedicated to and shared with them.”

LMA Executive Committee member Sir Alex Ferguson added: “As well as being a truly gifted manager and leader, you always display admirable humility and composure and I am sure your family must be very proud of you.”


Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola says his LMA Manager of the year award is an honour and is thankful for the kind words of Sir Alex Ferguson

The former Barcelona and Bayern Munich boss, who joined City ahead of the 2016-17 season, signed a new contract at the Etihad Stadium until 2023 last November.

City director of football Txiki Begiristain added: “Pep deserves this award, absolutely. To win the Premier League and Carabao Cup, as well as reach the Champions League final, in the most trying season we’ve ever seen, says everything about his quality as a manager.

“He has shown an outstanding ability to constantly innovate. With the challenges presented by COVID-19, he’s had to adapt to a new way of working. He’s done it brilliantly and our results say everything you need to know.

“And it isn’t just the results – the way we have played has been fantastic. The style of football is exactly what we want from a Manchester City team.”

Pep Guardiola and his Manchester City side will lift the Premier League trophy in front of the fans after the game against Everton


Pep Guardiola does not believe Manchester City’s lack of experience in European finals will play a part when they face Chelsea in the Champions League final on Saturday

Norwich head coach Daniel Farke, Hull boss Grant McCann and Cheltenham manager Michael Duff were voted for by their peers as Manager of the Year after leading their clubs to the Championship, League One and League Two titles respectively.

Emma Hayes won Barclays FA WSL Manager of the Year, following a voting process involving WSL Managers, an esteemed Barclays panel of respected individuals within women’s football and a public vote.

Hayes is also the first manager from the women’s game to be among the top six contenders for the LMA Manager of the Year award.

Jonathan Morgan was also recognised for leading Leicester to the Women’s Championship title.

Rangers boss Steven Gerrard was presented with the LMA Special Achievement Award for going undefeated throughout the entire Scottish Premiership season as the club won the league title.


Steven Gerrard reflects on his title-winning season with Rangers and pinpoints the moments that led to them lifting the trophy

LMA Chief Executive Richard Bevan said: “Tonight we celebrate the successes and efforts of all of our members over the course of one of the most difficult seasons in the history of the modern game.”

Full list of LMA Annual Awards Winners 2020/21:

The Sir Alex Ferguson trophy for the LMA Manager of the Year:
Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)

Barclays FA Women’s Super League Manager of the Year:
Emma Hayes MBE (Chelsea)

The FA Women’s Championship Manager of the Year:
Jonathan Morgan (Leicester City)

Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year:
Daniel Farke (Norwich City)

Sky Bet League One Manager of the Year:
Grant McCann (Hull City)

Sky Bet League Two Manager of the Year:
Michael Duff (Cheltenham Town)

LMA Special Achievement Award:
Steven Gerrard MBE (Rangers)

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *